What protections are in place to ensure an order isn't cancelled after completion?

I write backstories for Dungeons and Dragon characters.  I am still starting out so any project in my inbox is exciting!  I just received a very larger order that is going to be a time sink.  It is a gig I offer and I am excited to complete it but I'm a little apprehensive and honestly getting a bad vibe.

• The buyer is new to fiverr as of this month.
  • Their profile is pretty much blank.
  • This is their first gig ordered.
  • Their screen name includes "troll"
  • They chose a quite expensive package and added extras while allso wanting it as soon as possible.

For context this one gig would double my total profit on fiverr.

I am happy to get the experience and I am excited to do the project... but... I just wonder... after I send a PDF what actually stops the buyer from just cancelling it and keeping the PDF?  What protections are in place for people who do writing to ensure they get paid in the end?

• Like 11

Well, first of all consider your gut feel first. And only do an order once it has been placed. From there, you will have to discern.

But here is the article on Fiverr's protection: https://www.fiverr.com/support/articles/360010978618-Chargebacks-and-seller-protection

Chargebacks and seller protection

What is a chargeback?

A chargeback is a form of buyer protection issued by banks. They allow credit cardholders to file complaints relating to services received, and any fraudulent transactions that may have been made without buyer knowledge. A buyer's credit card company informs Fiverr of the chargeback, and may request:
  • Transaction information
  • Proof of delivery
  • Proof of refund

Important: Fiverr has a specific amount of time to respond to the credit card company with the requested information.

Reasons for chargebacks

Fraud