🚗Crazy, funny, or scary driving stories ... do you have any to share?

vickieito

It's been very quiet these last three years living in Japan without a car. I love it! I can get everywhere I need to with just my bike or the train. 

However, driving on the road was definitely more exciting! Here are some things that made it more interesting for me:

• I'm a terrible driver - I have wrecked 5 cars in 5 consecutive years. All my fault. 😟
  • Multitasking drivers - I've been impressed with friends who can drive with one knee while they do other tasks with each hand, such as making a salad and putting on makeup (note, they drive better than me).
  • Road Rage - It doesn't take much to get some people riled up. My husband thinks it's funny to "tease" those people. I think he's crazy.
  • Winter driving - This is the scariest for me! I hate spinning out of control and off the road.

One crazy but true driving story:

While on a work trip in Chicago, my taxi driver and another taxi driver had some type of issue going on between them while we were driving on the freeway. My driver kept trying to get away, but the other taxi driver would cut in front of us and slam on the breaks. Both drivers kept this up - weaving in and out of 70 mph traffic at very high speeds and stopping abruptly. It was scary! I was sure we were going to crash (either into each other or into other traffic on the freeway) and was pleading for my driver to stop so I could get out. Eventually both taxis did stop and both drivers got out and started to fight. I saw that as my opportunity to quietly escape and get away. Whew! 😅

Now it's your turn! What crazy, funny, or scary driving stories do you have? I'd love to hear!

Edited by vickieito
  • Like 15

5 minutes ago, vickieito said:
  • Multitasking drivers - I've been impressed with friends who can drive with one knee while they do other tasks with each hand, such as making a salad and putting on makeup (note, they drive better than me)