Do you mealplan?

katakatica

So - this question popped into my head while digging into some frozen mapo tofu I made last week.

As a freelancer, my schedule is...hectic, to say the least, but as my partner works 9 to 17 (lucky), we eat lunch/dinner at 'normal' times (which actually has been pretty good.) 

Recently, we've started mealplanning - which is a first for me, but it seems to make deciding on dinner WAY easier! 

So, do you plan your weekly meals? Do you even cook? (we only cook dinner, lunch is either frozen stuff or sometimes take-out). Weekends are usually 'eat-out' or pancake days, which is very fun as well! Basically, with a flexible schedule, I'm wondering if it's easier OR harder for you to figure lunch/dinner out! 

(I personally struggle to get away from the screen sometimes, so I can see it being a curse, to be honest.)

(bonus points if you have any quick dinner/lunch ideas that you'd love to share. We alternate between tricky and simple foods from quite a few countries, but the more recipes the better!)

• Like 9
  • Thanks 1

Dont judge me but...

I've pretty much lived out of hotels and airbnb's since 2018, first for work in my corporate life and then now as a FREElancer 🙂 and I live off deliveries. I've maybe cooked a dozen times in the last 4 years. Before then I always cooked bar a couple of deliveries a month.

If I do cook it's a chilli, a simple garlic/onion/tomato sauce or beans on toast (I'm English).

If I was more settled I would definitely meal prep, and probably make big batches of the above.

I eat very well for for a total of $5 to $20 a day, and I know if I went to the supermarket I could get this cost down, but frankly I don't think it would be worth it, and the joy of not having to plan, cook, clean up and eating a restaurant quality meal each time is wonderful.

I also know this is a very privileged, lucky situation I'm in and won't last forever.

14507E7A-C503-4B2C-9DEE-40DDD56491F8.png

Edited by williambryan392