Can you ask for help?

alphagev

So, as the tag says I just wanna talk about something deeply related with our own psychology. I'm not a doctor, I just want to ask a question and give my opinion.

I was struggling for years with the "simple" act of asking for help and accept it from my beloved ones. I couldn't ask for it, I felt I was showing my weakness. I had a memorable talk with a friend some time ago. She asked what if I broke my leg while hanging out with her. Could she pick me up and help me? I replied "No! I'll crawl!". That's an example of how devoted to my "no help" vision I was. It's something you'd see on this forum too. I barely asked questions or raised new threads to ask for advice. Instead I read a lot and tried to make things right by myself.
Now things are getting better, so I'm here to ask everybody: are you able to ask for help and gracefully receive it?

• Like 10
  • Up 2

5 hours ago, alphagev said:

Now things are getting better, so I'm here to ask everybody: are you able to ask for help and gracefully receive it?

I'm a man. I never ask for directions. 😄

Jokes aside, I have no problem asking for help if at first, I can't help myself. I always look for solutions myself, before asking for help. But there are times when help truly is needed. And there's nothing wrong with asking for it. 

My issue for a long time, was another thing related to psychology: I struggled with saying "no" to people. No to projects I didn't want to do, no to friends and family when they expected something of me that I just didn't want to do or had the energy for. Instead, I felt guilty for even thinking it, and I did what was asked of me. 

These days, I'm in love with the word "no". And the importance of it really can't be overstated. Being able to say "no" to more things, frees up your time, energy and love for the things that actually matter to you. Other people's expectations be damned. And being able to say "no" and feel good about it, has changed my life.