About free samples...(Personal opinion)

ubun97

Hi, thanks for stopping by.

All written down below is only my personal experiences and opinions.

I am a freelance voice over artist since Nov 2021. I often asked by buyers to give them my voice sample for free in order to get approval from their client especially explainer video creators.

I do not mean that I dislike or hate them. I understand their position and very welcome them to collaborate together. But I feel very unsecure if I give them my samples. I  spent long times, worked very hard and provided quality products even though it's just a sample. I understand free sample can be part of the promotion or commercial of your service but I am very worry about my samples will be resell or misuse. In the past, most of the results when I gave them free voice sample(90%are custom made sample) are just no further contact and just wasting my time doing those samples and lost track of it. In the end is worked but no money. (In my case, I gave out my samples  to over 30 potential clients and 100% of the clients I gave my sample DID NOT contact me again at all!!!)

Here is one of my most recently personal experience. A buyer(explainer video creator, Top Rate Seller) reached out to me and asked for my samples(which posted in my gig). In my gig, I already wrote no sample before order. At the same time, I was trying to sell my sample with condition to those who want. I told the buyer share my gig link to your client and say we'll collaborate together or if you want downloadable my samples, you need to buy my gig. The buyer ended up asking me why have to purchase and he/she only use it for getting approval from his/her client. I am very upset about it and was wondering "Why I have to be responsible to get you your client's approval?".