Laptop for writers

corsogr

Lately I'm thinking of buying a new laptop specifically for my writing needs / typing. I will have to ask the writers of this forum if they have any suggestions about a laptop for writers.

Plenty of guides, seen a dozen of them, still I'll place the question here.

• Like 23
  • Confused 2

I am a writer myself and I dislike writing on a laptop. I created a powerful battlestation with 2 x 31.5 inch monitors that make writing, researching, etc a delight. But I know not everyone works the way I do. 

I have a laptop just in case I need to travel and as it was said above, a Macbook is usually a very good fit, if you don't mind the smaller screen. It all comes down to your budget. I think the Vivobook and Zenbook lines from ASUS are worth looking into as well.

• Like 19
  • Up 4

9 minutes ago, corsogr said:

Now I need to buy a new laptop too.

Check this, TechRadar is usually very good and I agree with their main choices. Didn't try the Google one, but Surface is amazing when it comes to writing and it also has that touch display which is worth it in my opinion. Otherwise a MacBook will do fine. Honestly it depends on the budget. 

https://www.techradar.com/news/the-best-laptop-for-writers

• Like 14
  • Up 1
  • Thanks 3

43 minutes ago, corsogr said:

Not sure if a Macbook has a very good keyboard for typing.

I forgot to say, you're making me change my laptop, seeing these newer, much better units than what I have. Especially the new MacBooks with that powerful chip. Not that it matters for writing, but it does convey more productivity.

• Like 17

1 hour ago, visualstudios said:

The new m1 macbooks have a very good keyboard, yes. Much better than the previous models.

They are great and I am considering upgrading my Windows laptop to one of those later on this year. That being said, they take some getting used to with the OS if you're a Windows guy and... there's also the dark elephant in the room