Isn't a 20% a bit abusive?

jacoboolsson

Hey! I'm new to fiverr,

I don't know if people find it fair or are cool about the platform getting the 20% of the income creators get from their clients. 

Don't get me wrong, I don't want fiverr to turn into a monthly payment site for you to work on, but maybe it could be interesting that whenever you level up as a seller you get extra benefits on this matter. Maybe turn it into a 10% by getting the last seller level? I don't know. Right now I feel like for me there isn't much of a point to grow my seller level. I do get a bunch of clicks, more than what I need right now. I don't need extra gigs, I'm a one trick pony of what I do. So what is the point for me? I guess it looks cool to have some recognition or having a badge, but yeah, that's all. Let me know what you think! I'm actually pretty interested on what is people opinion on this matter. I know this is easily fixed by inflating the price from my gigs, but I want to make it fair for my costumers as well. Sorry if this is something that has been talked about in the past over and over (I feel like it has, Idk). I appreciate you taking the time to read me mumbling about something I've not much of an idea.

Happy new year!

Yes. It is. But prepare yourself for a lot of comments saying "if you don't like it, leave" and "fiverr is a business not a charity" because some folks here don't believe you can criticize the society you participate in 😅

* you could argue that getting top rated seller is worth it for getting your money faster, and it is, but if anything it makes the 2-week wait time for lower-rated sellers seem unnecessarily cruel.

I do think having a higher-rated profile has helped my gigs stand out though. I can also be a little pickier these days which is lucky.

It’s a matter of perception.

Fiverr isn’t taking 20% of your hard-earned cash.