Should I be concerned about seller's grammar?

paullee126

Question

Hi. I'm completely new to fiverr and wanted to ask if I should be concerned about sellers who post their services with what appears to me strange vocabulary/grammar/syntax?

For example:

- "Dear Great Buyer" 

- pr0mote

- lower case i for personal pronoun

I'm not trying to be a jerk, but I'm looking for someone to promote my book on social media. And so I do care how they project their message.

Thanks in advance for any feedback.

4 answers to this question

46 minutes ago, paullee126 said:

I'm not trying to be a jerk, but I'm looking for someone to promote my book on social media.

I would say it’s not a big problem if seller is working in the area where English language is not used in the service like design category for example, there are a lot of people from different parts of the world and not everyones language can be perfect. 

But if it’s something with writing, proofreading or promoting a book like in your case then of course it’s better to stay away from sellers that don’t come professional or make mistakes in something that they claim to be a pro. 

Competency.

I like to think that grammar is the 'dressing for the part' for an online interview. In-person, one would never wear ripped jeans and a graphic t-shirt to a job interview at any 'reputable' business. If someone cannot take time to skim what they've typed before they hit send/enter (or, worse, 'text' speak is the only way they know how to type), then how can I expect them to take the same care and consideration needed for a job? Yes, typing shortcuts are handy on a phone, but maybe they should 'change cloths' (switch to a computer) b4 u respond lol bbq : ) : ) : ) !!1!1!! *ahem* Fiverr is supposedly a platform for professionals, but there is almost NO barrier to entry, so Sturgeons Law applies.