Questions about getting started as a seller!

mt_calvary

Hey everyone! I am new to the world of freelancing and have some questions before getting started that I am having a hard time finding answers to ( mixed advice and info via YouTube and Google lol ). And these questions may seem silly but I am new to freelancing and haven't got a clue so any and all information on the below questions would be very helpful and beyond appreciated! 

1. Before selling services on Fiverr, do I need to obtain any documents or licenses such as an EIN, sales tax permit or a business license ( LLC ) etc?

2. What sort of taxes do Fiverr freelancers have to pay other than income tax? I've researched this and have read that as a self-employed individual you will need to pay self-employment taxes which includes both Medicare and Social Security taxes. This makes sense to me however, I have also read that Fiverr automatically takes the Medicare and SS taxes out and will send you a 1099 form? I don't think that that is accurate but wanted to be sure because as a freelancer you're self-employed and generally when you are self-employed you hire a tax accountant to do your taxes and you have to pay back taxes and nothing is withheld. But maybe Fiverr is different?

3. At what point will Fiverr send you a 1099 form? I enquired about this and some said that once you make $600 in sales or more then that is when Fiverr will send you a 1099 form however, some also said that the minimum was $400. As someone who has never been self-employed and has only ever worked for public retail or community centers who provide a W-2 at the end of each year, this information would be very helpful.