Large Order??

fiveroptic1

Question

Hi, this is my 1st post after joining - so hello all.  

I have a question that's maybe for the more experienced among you, regarding a potentially large order. Whilst I'm not a particularly suspicious type, I am new to Fiverr; so it does pay to be diligent - hence this post.

So briefly, I created a new gig a few days ago and have already had an enquiry. That's great of course, however, after a quick and very conservative calculation, I reckon it will be in the region of 2.5 - 3k!  Whilst I'm not complaining (it's a job that will take time, but well within my skillset), I am a little surprised that I've been chosen for such a fruity project; given that I'm a complete newbie, with no reviews and no provenance whatsoever. Above all, I'm concerned that once I've done all the work for this customer (who I obviously have never heard of), that I don't, to put it politely, get shafted.  In the 'real' world of course, I wouldn't touch a job like this this without a sizeable (& non refundable) deposit safely in my bank account before I even begin!  

My understanding is that buyers can claim a refund weeks or even months after delivery, so I wondered how experienced Fiverr 'giggers' would handle this? e.g. break the gig down into 'chunks' on a 'pay as you go' type basis, separate in into different gigs etc or something else etc etc. Or are there any resources that Fiverr make available to deal with similar situations such as this, where buyers and sellers can be protected when dealing with high value orders? 

Many thanks for taking the time to read this. Any advice and/or feedback will be gratefully received. 
thanks.
Paul  

6 answers to this question