A tip for success we rarely discuss.

newsmike

I offer this advice to truly help with a problem I see every day on the forum and in many gigs. It is not meant to offend, but as constructive advice. 

Like it or not, fiverr is an English based platform in a global economy. Without sugar coating this, there are thousands of posts here with terribly broken English. If you are not a native speaker, the best thing you can do is polish your English skills. There are some non native speakers here who are as proficient as if they were born in the US. However, they are not the majority.

I would never join a site run in Italian, French or Chinese, and expect to be successful, even with Google translate.

Secret: Google translate is good enough to get you to the train station in any language. It is terrible at fixing verb tenses and probably mis-conjugates verbs as often as it gets them right. That's why we keep seeing huge tells like:

No sales since one week, I am new in fiverr, and hundreds more. 

In the forum we tend to just look past these things, and occasionally snicker at the most egregious. But in the gig arena, and in your messaging to clients, this will be a make or break. If I sense communications issues, I will always look to find someone who can easily communicate with me.  And on fiverr, English is king.

It's difficult to be a non-native freelancer: there's already a "stigma" on us in most fields. (I used to be heckled a lot when I was applying to teaching jobs. Makes sense, but when you start with a disadvantage, you NEED to learn how to deal with it - or make it into an advantage, if possible.)