Buyer wants me to listen to an hour-long interview and pull quotes from it for article

I offer blog writing. I just received an order to write an article and the buyer attached an hour-long interview that they want me to listen to and pull quotes from to include in the article. Obviously, this would take up more of my time than usual. Would you cancel this order if you were in my shoes?

I am a writer myself. I don’t take this type of job because it’s time-consuming and it’s never worth it.

So yes, I would cancel if it was me. But you know your stats here and how much a cancellation can affect them!

Agreed. Thank you for your input. I’m at 99% cancellation so I can take the hit.

I do this type of job only for one client, we agreed upon and she returns several times each month. However, when this is the case, I charge per hour instead of the traditional word-counting. I create a custom offer with the details. A one-hour video takes almost double just to pull out quotes and relevant topics.

You can explain the situation to your client and send an extra charge for the hour of listening. Or cancel the order. Good luck.

I do this type of job only for one client, we agreed upon and she returns several times each month. However, when this is the case, I charge per hour instead of the traditional word-counting. I create a custom offer with the details. A one-hour video takes almost double just to pull out quotes and relevant topics.

You can explain the situation to your client and send an extra charge for the hour of listening. Or cancel the order. Good luck.

Can you elaborate the per hour charge?

I had a client who kept on asking about my hourly rate, and I thought he was confusing fiverr with alternate platforms.

I would just charge more for the requirement.

Listening to audio is just not one-time. To transcribe, you need to listen and then re-listen to the audio (depending upon the quality).

A 5 minutes quote would take up 10-15 minutes.