Is this a scam? (video request)

josh_hobbs

I have 2 active Fiverr gigs, offering voiceovers. There have been a few times now that somebody has reached out to me, asking if I can record some video clips for them. I have plenty of video production experience, so this isn’t a problem, but it is a little suspicious. Each time so far, I have declined for one reason or another, but I want to do some more digging with a current offer.

A woman has reached out explaining she’d like to get into producing, and is very amateur. As such, she explained that this video will just be for practice, won’t be made public, video quality doesn’t matter, nor does acting ability. However, she still said that she has a budget of $115 for the 10-12 minutes of footage she’d like me to record. Her profile says she’s from America and her “local time” matches up with that claim. So, all in all, seems legit, easy cash.

Here’s where things are a bit fishy. Her profile was only just created, Feb 2021 (it’s only Feb 11th, so it wouldn’t surprise me if it was made today). That’s fine, a buyer has to create a profile sometime. However, like I said, I have no acting or video work gigs, nor have I ever had an active acting or video work gig. She also explained that she needed some sample work to ensure I could do the job, so I referred her to my YouTube channel and also asked why she decided to reach out to me where I don’t have a relevant gig. She explained that I have the look she wants and she loves my videos (I only just sent her my YouTube channel, it’s a very, very small channel, so I doubt she’d seen it before). She also explained that she’d still need a sample recording of me doing the the first scene for her project so she knew I could do it. That’s just odd to me where neither quality nor acting skills mattered initially.