Got Scammed Today and I'm Boiled

lisamusser

I am pretty new to Fiverr and so far it has been going well. I just hit level 1 and have maintained a 5* rating. I had a buyer ask me last night to do a rewrite for him. The word count was higher than my package offerings and he was willing to pay extra for 24-hour delivery, so I sent him a custom offer. Something in my gut told me not to withdraw the offer but I figured it was easy enough and I had the time to do it. He accepted the offer and I started working on it. I discovered that the word count of the document he sent was more than he quoted, the images were taken directly from Google images, and he wanted 3 keywords used in the post. I did all of that, rewrite the entire text-minus 400 words that were ver the word count, included new “free-to-use” images from appropriate channels, and delivered within the timeframe.

What happened was 10 minutes after I delivered the project he decided to cancel. Stating the reason as poor quality. He also said he didn’t ask me to rewrite it or use different images. I know now that he did it just to get free work and his money back.

For all new sellers on Fiverr…listen to your gut. If something doesn’t feel right about a buyer, walk away. I just wasted my time writing almost 3,000 words of text, finding images, and I feel used by this person. Obviously, he knew that the article would be changed, that is the point of rewriting content. It was still on the same topic but written from a 3rd person POV with a little added information about genetics thrown in for good measure. I did everything to deliver him a 100% unique article and now I’m out time and money both.

I am also going to add a discliamer to my gig description telling buyers to please read before ordering, and if they don’t want the article changed then please do not order from me. If you want an exact copy of the same article with the words turned around, then please ask someone else.

NEVER CANCEL!!!