Is converting a copyrighted photo to a drawing a copyright infringement?

schnauzerco

Question

Hi - bit of a newbie here. Have put in an illustration design request, and found that the design that the seller delivered looks to be simply a photograph with a photoshop pencil effect applied.

We were able to identify the original photo via Google, and it appears that it is copyrighted on a stock photo site.

We have paid for this design for commercial use, so we’re a little concerned regarding whether we might be infringing upon the copyright ownership of the original photograph’s owner should we use it on our products.

The seller has reassured us that redrawing photos that are made like art is fine - I’m a little skeptical.

Would the hive mind/ more enlightened be able to confirm/ allay my fears?

Thank you!!!

11 answers to this question

No that’s not fine, drawing on top of the photo or tracing it in illustrator still copyright infringement.
I doubt that he himself bout a commercial licence for it and even if so you would also need to purchase the same licence for yourself from that stock website. (And on top of that seller had no right to sell commercial copyrights to something that he didn’t originally created)

On your place I would’ve contact fiverr support and asked for money back (they are quite serious with copyright infringement)

Correct me if am wrong.

I think if you take a copy righted photo and manipulate it when you dont have the licence to it, and turn it into totally something else, will not the trigger the alarm. cause you are not using the same image anymore.

Correct me if am wrong.

Sorry but you are wrong.

Please see the posts above yours for more information.

what will happen if I send a picture to my client without checking about its copy right status. Is my Gig be removed if copy right did not allow use/ reproduction of this photo?

How can you not know if you created picture yourself or not?