Liverpool greetings! Which accent?

Hello everyone! I’m a pro voice over from Liverpool (but living in London). I get work pretty regularly with my natural Liverpool accent. I’ve noticed on the site folks selling American and British accent. What is your definition of a British accent? Over here in Britain there are so many diverse regional accents so to me there is no ‘British accent’ if you mean British standard rp then I think that’s what should be sold. Just a point. Great to be here! 😃

Interesting question! I’m not a VO artist but I can relate. I’m American and accents also vary widely here. I see gigs that just refer to an American accent. They seem to do okay if the accent is somewhat neutral. Some people learn how to speak with few special inflections.

Some artists have a strong accent from the American deep south, New York, Boston, etc. They seem to do well only if their description and samples are clear.

When I first came to Fiverr I could hear the difference between a London accent and a Scottish accent, but not between London and Yorkshire. I’ve become slightly more familiar since then, but I still hear limited differences. I can sometimes tell a British “city” accent from the accent of a British accent from a rural area. I can understand some accents fine, I guess “BBC” English, but a Geordie is difficult for me to follow.

I think sellers are better off to make generalizations in the gig title but be specific in description and samples. The title might just say “British English” but the description should state what regional accent is the default and any other regional accents can be used for order delivery.

That’s my take on it. I’d be interested to see what others say.

Welcome to the Fiverr Forum @gavinskelhor436!