Possible fraud - Fiverr isn't where they say they're from

farragio

I’ve been a member of Fiverr for a long time but have never really used it so I’m still new to it. I was searching for someone last night to help me with a project and thought I’d found someone who sounded legitimate and they were listed as being in ****** . After I’d contacted them I saw through my website analytics that they are in ******* (ETA: Moderator removed the locations. The first location and second location are half way around the world from each other, so it’s not an accident or typo that they lied about their location). Normally I wouldn’t care where they’re from except the lying about their location has my antennae up.

What is the protocol for something like this? Do I need to report them?

Mod Note: Country reference removed.

If it’s a difference in listing, it could also be that they were traveling or that it was a bug. That does happen occasionally.

If you feel that it was definitely deception and was harmful to your project, you can report them. It’s bad form to lie about where you’re from. There are legitimate sellers from all over the world who are talented at what they do, so there’s no need for them to try and impress buyers that way.

I’ve been a member of Fiverr for a long time but have never really used it so I’m still new to it. I was searching for someone last night to help me with a project and thought I’d found someone who sounded legitimate and they were listed as being in ****** . After I’d contacted them I saw through my website analytics that they are in ******* (ETA: Moderator removed the locations. The first location and second location are half way around the world from each other, so it’s not an accident or typo that they lied about their location). Normally I wouldn’t care where they’re from except the lying about their location has my antennae up.

What is the protocol for something like this? Do I need to report them?

Mod Note: Country reference removed.