VO Commercial Use and Broadcast Release demystified

matureactress

The following is copied and pasted from Fiverr’s newly updated TOS. I will attempt to explain this to you better in layman’s terms. I’ve entered breakdowns in italics. Full disclosure, I’m an experienced Paralegal (past career) and not an attorney.

VOICE OVER COMMERCIAL BUYOUT

When purchasing a Voice Over Gig, the Seller grants you a perpetual, exclusive, non-transferable, worldwide license to use the purchased Voice Over (except for commercials, radio, television and internet commercial spots). In other words, included in their purchase are VERY basic rights. For example, for their answering machine recording, or anywhere they’re not seeking a profit from the use of the production.

By purchasing a Commercial Rights (Buy-Out) with your order, in addition to the basic rights, the Seller grants you with a license to use the Voice Over for any corporate, promotional and non-broadcast purposes. Corporate, promotional and non-broadcast purposes means any business related use for the creation of, or to promote a for-product profit or service (with the exception of paid marketing channels), such as (by way of example): explainer videos posted to company websites, social networks or email campaigns, audiobooks, podcast intros, and strictly excludes any illegal, immoral or defamatory purpose. This is the next level of rights transfer. This is for the Buyer who chooses to use the VO recording to promote their product/service for profit but with limited public reach.