A buyer sent me a virus!

ollydave

Ok so I received a message today on my Fiverr inbox. It said “Halo! I want order servc.
I need to do this quickly.
Pls see task.
tomorrow will be ready??”

I downloaded it and it was a ZIP file. I have a very deep knowledge of information security ( I have a masters in IT security) and when I opened the Zip file, I could guess it was a virus. It contained a word document and some instructions on how to run the zip file.

My antivirus caught a file trying to remotely control my computer. I took care of it, scanned my system and cleared any trace of the files.

I imagine what could have happened, I try to backup my client files regularly and I also have a backup laptop, just in case. Please take note of this and always be careful when opening files, I have reported the Seller already.

Cheers!

These malicious people will never stop, ever! 😠

Reminds me of a link I received 7 years ago, with a Java applet (at that time many browsers had Java applets enabled), and after I opened it thinking it was their site I saw nothing. Next morning, my account was missing $200 of earnings, Fiverr blocked my account until I verified it with them, and maybe from there the general account verifications had started.

And no, Fiverr didn’t give me those earnings back - I guess it was my fault after all for clicking on that link 😦

could’ve tried to add you to his botnet cluster lucky you but you could have avoided that by just previewing the zip file and not extracting it.

True, I was only curious. I also wanted to inspect the bat file. My bad

These malicious people will never stop, ever! 😠

Reminds me of a link I received 7 years ago, with a Java applet (at that time many browsers had Java applets enabled), and after I opened it thinking it was their site I saw nothing. Next morning, my account was missing $200 of earnings, Fiverr blocked my account until I verified it with them, and maybe from there the general account verifications had started.